Government System

The government of the Dominican Republic is based on a representative democracy. It is divided into three governmental branches independent from each other; executive, legislative, and judicial branches.

The executive branch is led by the president, who is elected by direct vote for a 4-year term, with the possibility for an immediate re-election and cannot be elected for a third term. The president appoints the cabinet, and the governors of the 31 provinces. He executes laws passed by the legislative branch, and is commander in chief of the armed forces. Mayors and municipal councils are also elected by direct vote for a 4-year term to administer the 124 municipal districts and the National District (Santo Domingo)

The legislative branch consists of a bicameral Congress composed by the Senate, with 32 members, and the House of Representatives, with 178 members. The members of both chambers are elected by the direct vote of their corresponding province.

The Judicial branch is administered by the Supreme Court, which is composed of 16 judges appointed by the National Council of Magistrates, an entity created to ensure the independence from the other branches of government. The National Council of Magistrates, as stated by the constitution, must have as members the representation from both the official and the opposition party, as well as from the Supreme Court.

Tamaño letra